The Economic Policy Research Centre (EPRC) Board of Management recognized the top 3 best performing young Researchers for excellence exhibited in implementation of the center’s annual research plan for 2016-2017period.

In a ceremony that was held at the Centre's Conference Hall on August 24, 2017, Corti Paul Lakuma- a Research Fellow, Tony Odokonyero and Sheilla Anne Depio both Research Analysts were awarded with plaques and other prices.

Award 24 Aug17 Web

Present at the brief fete were Prof. Barnabas Nawangwe, the New Vice Chancellor-Makerere University, Dr. Ssekamatte Ssebuliba John, Manager Population and Social Sector Planning-National Planning Authority (NPA) and Dr. Grace Bantebya-Kyomuhendo, a Professor of Women and Gender Studies in the School of Women and Gender Studies of Makerere University. The trio are members of the Research Advisory Panel of the EPRC Board of Management.

Nawangwe said if actual research is generated and government adopts it, the battle against poverty could be won.

According to Prof. Grace Bantebya Kyomuhendo, the representative of the Research Community in the EPRC Board, there was a lot of commitment by researchers. She described researchers as foot soldiers who deliver data and make sense of the developmental information.

The Executive Director EPRC, Dr. Sarah Ssewanyana thanked the EPRC heads of department where the awardees stemmed from, for the coaching and mentoring.

Sign in or Register

Already a member?

Sign in

Or sign in with your account on:

Not a member yet?

RSS Feed